Opposition Leader John Robertson announces new shadow cabinet

    Posted: Friday, 8 April 2011 | By: John Robertson

    Opposition Leader John Robertson has announced his shadow cabinet – putting forward a mix of new faces and experience. 

    "My team is fresh, energetic and ready to work," said Mr Robertson. 
    "I have selected smart, talented people - determined to win back the trust of the people of NSW.
    "We are a smaller team but we will work twice as hard to hold the O'Farrell Government to account."
    Linda Burney will serve as Deputy Leader, Shadow Minister for Planning, Infrastructure and Heritage, Shadow Minister for Sport and Recreation, Shadow Minister for the Hunter and Shadow Minister for the Central Coast. 
    "Linda Burney as Deputy Leader brings a wealth of experience, a passion for social justice and a strength of character I admire. 
    "Linda's personal story is the very embodiment of what Labor stands for – that every person should have the opportunity to be the best they can be. 
    "As Leader and Deputy Leader, Linda and I will also take on the regional shadow portfolios of the Hunter, Central Coast, Western Sydney and the Illawarra. 
    "Michael Daley will take on the Treasury and Finance and Services portfolios; and unlike the Premier, I have full confidence in Michael to manage all issues relating to the State's budget and economy. 
    "Of the 15 people in my team, seven are fresh faces – these new shadow cabinet members bring with them an energy, enthusiasm and commitment worthy of the task ahead," said Mr Robertson. 
    Some of the fresh faces include: 
    • Andrew McDonald, Shadow Minister for Health and Shadow Minister for Medical Research. 
    • Penny Sharpe, Shadow Minister for Transport. 
    • Luke Foley, Shadow Minister for the Environment and Climate Change, Shadow Minister for Water, Shadow Minister for Energy and Shadow Special Minister of State. 
    "Dr McDonald is a practicing paediatrician and an Associate Professor who continues to work one day a week pro-bono treating children and teaching medical students and junior doctors. 
    "Ms Sharpe has a strong track record of community advocacy and has served since 2008 as Parliamentary Secretary for Transport. 
    "The portfolios of Climate Change and Water will be reinstated, and Luke Foley as Shadow Minister for the Environment and Climate Change will reclaim policy responsibility for Marine Parks and Catchment Management Authorities." 
    The portfolios of Housing, Industrial Relations and Volunteering and Youth will also be reinstated. 
    "There are six women in the Cabinet I announce today including Deputy Leader, Linda Burney, Shadow Minister for Education and Training and former Deputy Premier, Carmel Tebbutt and Shadow Minister for Transport, Penny Sharpe. 
    "Newcomer Sophie Cotsis will take on the shadow portfolios of Citizenship and Communities, Local Government, Industrial Relations and the Status of Women. 
    "Today my cabinet and I are in Hurstville in the electorate of Oatley - a seat we lost at the election because people in this area, for the first time in their lives, couldn't bring themselves to vote Labor. 
    "We are here to listen and learn from the people in this community. 
    "We do not underestimate the challenge of Opposition and we owe it to the people of NSW to be hard working and unrelenting. 
    "This afternoon, the new shadow cabinet will meet formally for the first time to begin the work to rebuild Labor, and re-establish the trust we breached with the people of NSW." 

    Tags: cabinet, community, John, Robertson, shadow

View all News


Western Sydney Regional Assembly
View all videos


RSS View all blogs


RSS View all news